سليم الصايغ هو أستاذ القانون والعلاقات الدولية في جامعة باريس الحادية عشرة منذ عام 1993. وهو حاليا مدير برنامج الماجستير في المفاوضات الدبلوماسية والإستراتيجية في جامعة باريس XI وجامعة الحكمة في بيروت، ورئيس مركز CADMUS منذ عام 1994. سليم الصايغ هو مؤسس ونائب رئيس كلية الدراسات العليا الأميركية للدبلوماسية منذ عام 1995 في باريس. هو أستاذا زائرا في أكثر من عشرين جامعة في مختلف أنحاء العالم.selim

في 9 نوفمبر 2009 عين وزيرًا للشئون الاجتماعية في حكومة الرئيس سعد الدين الحريري في عهد الرئيس ميشال سليمان، وظل يتولى المنصب حتى 13 يونيو 2011.. خلال توليه الوزارة، وضع الصايغ عددا من السياسات والاستراتيجيات التي ساهمت بتطوير القطاع الاجتماعي في لبنان. قام بتطوير الميثاق اجتماعي في لبنان والاستراتيجية الوطنية للتنمية الاجتماعية في لبنان؛ أشرف على اعداد معايير الجودة لعمل للمنظمات غير الحكومية؛ ساهم بإنشاء ماجستير في إدارة المنظمات غير الحكومية؛ وبإنشاء مركز التوثيق للطفولة. ساهم الصايغ في تطوير العديد من البرامج الوطنية المبتكرة التي تهدف إلى تعزيز الظروف المعيشية للمواطنين الأكثر حرمانا في لبنان، مثل البرنامج الوطني لدعم الاسر الاكثر فقرا.

سليم الصايغ هو خبير دولي في مجال تخصصه. هو مستشار اول لمنظمة اليونسكو حول برنامج ثقافة الحوار. حاصل على عدد من الجوائز الدولية والأكاديمية. وهو مؤلف للعديد من المنشورات والابحاث باللغة الفرنسية والإنجليزية والعربية.

حاصل على عدة شهادات، حيث حصل بعام 1983 على شهادة في إدارة الأعمال، وفي عام 1985 حصل على شهادة بالحقوق، وفي عام 1986 على شهادة في العلوم السياسية، وفي عام 1989 حصل على شهادة الماستر في العلاقات الدولية والدبلوماسية، كما حصل على شهادة في دراسات معمقة في التاريخ وعلى الدراسات في الدبلوماسية وقانون المنظمات الدولية في عام 1990. وفي عام 1992 حصل على شهادة الدكتوراه في القانون وذلك من «جامعة باريس الحادية عشر».

Sélim El Sayegh is a Professor of Law and International Relations at the Paris-XI University since 1993. He is currently the Director of the Master’s Program in Diplomacy & Strategic Negotiations at Paris XI University & La Sagesse University in Beirut, and the President of CADMOS (Center for the Analysis of Disputes and their Modes of Settlement) since 1994 and 2001 respectively. He has been the Co-Founder and Vice-President of the American Graduate School of Diplomacy since 1995 in Paris. He has been a Visiting Professor in more than twenty universities around the world. His main area of specialization is conflict resolution, negotiation, diplomacy & development studies. 

El Sayegh was the Minister of Social Affairs from 2009 till 2011 serving under the Hariri Government. During his leading position in the government, El Sayegh developed policies and strategies that excelled the social sector in Lebanon. He led the development of the Social Pact & the National Strategy for Social Development in Lebanon; oversaw the implementation of the Good Governance Standards to NGO’s; led the creation of the 1st Middle Eastern Master’s Degree of NGO Management; established the National Documentation Center for Childhood; and developed the elderly care taking centers standards. El Sayegh contributed to the development of many innovative national programs aiming at enhancing the living conditions of the most disadvantaged citizens of Lebanon, such as the National Program for Improving the Living Conditions of the Poor.

EL Sayegh is an internationally and regionally recognized expert in his field. He currently serves as a Senior Adviser for the UNESCO Program on Intercultural Dialogue. He has been on the board of World Bank for Social Politics in the MENA region since 2012. He is a distinguished lecturer and frequently quoted in the national and regional media. He has also obtained a number of international academic professional awards and appointments. He is the author of numerous publications in French, English and Arabic.

El Sayegh received his PhD in International Law & National accreditation to supervise PhD Thesis from Paris University in 1992. He has DEA (M.Phil) in History from the Sorbonne University (Paris 1), and an M.A in Diplomacy and International Relations from Paris-XI University in 1990 and 1989 respectively. He has Bachelor degrees in Political Science, Law & Business Management from different universities in Lebanon in 1986, 1985 & 1983 respectively.